Therapist for Teenagers in Somerville, NJ

Olive Branch Therapy Group
2 min readMar 30, 2023

--

Meet Catherine Black, LPC (she/her/hers):

Hello! I’m a therapist at Olive Branch Therapy Group. I received my undergraduate degree in Child and Family Services and minor in Sociology from Montclair State University and my graduate degree in Clinical Mental Health Counseling and School Counseling from New Jersey City University.

My Therapy Specialties:

I specialize in working with children, teens, and young adults dealing with:

Anxiety, Depression, Stress, Low Self Esteem and Body Image Issues, School Issues, Social Problems, Behavior Difficulties, Parenting, Venting, and Motivation.

What drew me to this work:

Growing up, I always knew I wanted to help people. I often found myself babysitting, listening to a friend’s problems, and taking pride in working with elders in a nursing home listening to their life stories. I always had a fascination with people’s habits, behaviors, and understanding the different ways the human mind can work. I went to school to learn how to help children and families who were struggling. Later, I went to Grad School to work as a School Counselor, I loved working one on one with children and helping them reach their goals even if they thought they’d never could. As I progressed in school, it became clear to me working in a private practice, helping people was exactly where I wanted to be. I knew this was the kind of work where I can directly help and educate clients on how to live their best life.

My Style:

My style is to help my clients feel welcomed in the counseling session. It is important, my clients feel safe and accepted because talking to someone about your fears, anxieties, issues, and bad habits can become uncomfortable quickly. As a counselor, my job is to help you overcome this struggle and look past the stigma, so these things are part of your history and you can grow into the best version of you. You are the expert in your life and I am looking forward to helping you.

Services I offer:

In-person individual, children, millennial, and young adults who live in New Jersey.

Catherine’s Credentials:

  • Licensed Professional Counselor (LPC)
  • Eye Movement Desensitization and Reprocessing (EMDR) Trained Clinician
  • Cognitive Behavioral therapy trained

Click here to schedule an appointment with Catherine Black.

--

--